On January 1, 2021 the New Mexico Minimum Wage increased to $10.50 an hour. This increase is in accordance with an amendment to the New Mexico Minimum Wage Act signed into law by Governor Lujan Grisham on April 1, 2019.
Beginning January 1, 2021:
State minimum wage: $10.50 per hour
State tipped minimum wage: $2.55 per hour
Minimum wage is the lowest wage that an employer is legally required to pay to workers. NMDWS enforces the state and federal minimum wage. Please be advised that the City of Albuquerque, Bernalillo County, the City of Las Cruces, the City of Santa Fe, and Santa Fe County currently enforce their own minimum wage. Businesses should be aware that the state will enforce the highest available rate.
The updated Minimum Wage poster that employers are required to display in a place where employees can easily see it can be downloaded below:
Additional information about the minimum wage is available on our website at www.dws.state.nm.us/Minimum-Wage-Information.